Broke, Lazy and Now in New Low Carb!

Just when I think I’m out, they pull me back in!  Since the new doc says “low carb, high fat” here we go again!  Now, I want to be really clear here, I will not be giving low carb advice. Its not a passion of mine, it isn’t working for me so far, I refuse to do induction because I can’t afford separate groceries. If it works in the long term, fan-fucking-tastic. Right now though, I’m up a pound and a half even though my calorie and carb counts don’t support it and pretty much wish ill upon everyone for taking away more of my food friends. However…

Why should everyone have to suffer combing through recipes and organizing grocery lists???  Here’s the first 6 nights of dinners. With my extra needs for the week (breakfast, lunch, our scheduled snack night, etc) my total came to around $120. 

Each dinner serves 4, generously, doesn’t really require a side dish, and is less than 20g total carbs as I prepared it. Recipes above 10g total carbs per serving are marked with an asterisk. If you find mistakes, please tell me. Any time I say Olive Oil, feel free to use butter. I just LOVE olive oil. Do you have to do Low Carb?  Lol. Of course not!!! The grocery list is for Low Carb. So maybe don’t use that. 

Indian Slow Cooker Butter Chicken Undoubtedly this dish is best as they wrote and make it. However, it’s not LAZY. Here are my changes. Omit completely the cornstarch, water and salt. Replace the heavy cream with sour cream. Now, while you quickly bake the breasts in the oven, mix all other ingredients in the crockpot. Once chicken is mostly cooked, chop it and add to crockpot. Throw on the lid and leave it for 4.5 hours. Serve over egg noodles for carbs (or kids) or rice or broccoli (low carb). 

Low Carb Manicotti Bake. 

  • 2 Zucchini cut thin lengthwise
  •  15 ounces Ricotta cheese
  • 12 ounces ground sausage
  • 2 cups frozen spinach
  • 1 cup canned diced tomatoes in garlic, basil, and oregano
  •  8 ounces mozzarella.  

Grease a 9×13 pan. Layer 1/2 the zucchini on the bottom. Cook spinach. Cook sausage. Mix spinach and sausage with ricotta cheese. Season the mix if you wish. Spread over the top of zucchini, layer the rest of the zucchini on top. Drain the diced tomatoes. Spread 1 cup on top. Spread mozzarella on top either shredded or in thin slices. Season again if you wish. I did basil for a bruschetta taste.  Bake at 350 for 40 mins. 

Low Carb Cheesy Chicken Broccoli Casserole This one is great as written by A Journey to a Fit Mom and I’m including the ingredients as written in the grocery list, but it may be over 10g carbs. I made changes because 2 of my kids really hate mushrooms. I dropped the mushrooms and added 1\2# of steak, increased the sour cream and dropped the water and ricotta making it more household friendly and 4 servings.  It was still really fab and came in at 6.7g carbs and 27g fat. A real low carb/high fat winner. 

Lemon Pork with Cucumber Yogurt Sauce

I served this one with a side dish of petite whole green beans sautéed in olive oil. It’s an old recipe of mine. I used to make the pork on the grill with green onions and serve it with homemade garlic pita bread. So yum. 

  • 1 pork chop or steak per person (based on how your family eats)
  • Lemon juice 
  • Olive oil
  • 2 cups Plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup cucumber diced
  • 3 stalks green onions, sliced
  • Pepper and cumin, to taste

    Have I mentioned my laziness? In the pan or pans for your pork, throw in olive oil and lemon juice to cover the bottom. Place the pork in, turn the oven to 250°, and make the sauce. Combine the yogurt, cucumber, green onions, pepper and cumin. Give it a good stir. Cover it and stick it in the fridge. Come back in 3 hours, pull out the meat, make sure its cooked through and serve. Top with the sauce. 

    Zoodles and Chicken

    • 1 Zucchini or serving of pasta per person
    • Olive oil
    • Garlic
    • 1 Chicken serving per person

    Some nights are seriously K.I.S.S. nights, right?! Make zucchini “noodles” either with your vegetable peeler or spiralizer thingy. Put oil in two separate pans. Cook chicken in the oil of one pan. When the chicken is cooked, let it sit. Cook the zucchini in the other pan of oil to desired tenderness. Plate zucchini, top with chicken. I  added hot sauce to my chicken for the last few minutes of cooking and topped the whole thing with parmesan. It came in right at 10g carbs

    Rolled Meatloaf with Ham Cheese and Spinach

    This recipe from Be A Fun Mom caught my eye for low carb because it looks way yum, and because I had just read my sister in law’s Frick-a-Dilly recipe that uses pork rinds instead of bread crumbs. The swaps for low carb are skip the sauce, and replace the bread crumbs with crushed pork rinds. Full disclosure, my teenage son came home the day I made this. He eats like, well, a teenager. Lol. I totally had to make sides. Baked potatoes for the kids and oven fried garlic broccoli for me. Plus. I skipped the ham and doubled the cheese. In the grocery list the ham was NOT included.

    The List

    ( ) Head of Broccoli

    ( ) Onion

    ( ) Mushrooms 8 oz

    ( ) Cucumber

    ( ) Green onion, 3 stalks

    ( ) Zucchini, 6

    ( ) Jalapeño

    ( ) Spinach

    ( ) 12 Chicken Breasts

    ( ) Ground sausage, 12 oz

    ( ) 1.5 pounds ground beef

    ( ) Pork Chops, 1 per person

    ( ) Greek Yogurt, plain 3 cups

    ( ) Sour cream, 1.25 cup

    ( ) Ricotta, 23 oz

    ( ) Mozzarella, 24 oz

    ( ) Eggs

    ( ) Lemon juice

    ( ) Cumin

    ( ) Ground Cinnamon

    ( ) Cayenne

    ( ) Black Pepper

    Leave a Reply

        Blog at WordPress.com.

    Up ↑

