I Do Not Like Frozen Custard, But….

Every area in the country has its unique food foibles. I am lucky. Growing up I benefitted from three distinct but domestic food cultures. My mom’s Pennsylvanian, United Methodist, and last but not least Saint Louis. 

Saint Louis means Imo’s, toasted raviolis, mostaccioli at EVERY wedding, waffle cones, and Ted Drewes. 

Ugh. I hate half that list. My mom really embraced that mostaccioli thing – with gnocchi’s no less! Just thinking about it makes me both full and nauseous. Seriously. I avoid it like the plague. 

Growing up, we didn’t go to Ted Drewes. I think my parents did once. My mom was privileged enough to grow up in Meadville, PA which is home to the famous Hank’s. There’s nothing better than Hank’s. 

When I moved back to Saint Louis a few years ago, we lived very close to Ted Drewes. One pregnant day, I sent the man up there to stand in line and bring home some yummy frozen custard. My stepdaughter was elated! My husband was elated! I was SAD. This was it? Gross. My big complaint? It tastes like eggs. I know, I know! It’s custard. But, Hank’s Frozen Custard doesn’t taste like eggs. It tastes like heaven. HEAVEN!!!!

When you cook as much as I do, you learn to revisit things that previously were not good. Little changes make a big difference. Right now, I’m playing with custard. It is easy to see the low carb potential in custard. 

Still using the guide set by Stay at Home Mum, I decided to chocolate it up and freeze it a bit. Guess what?! It tasted just like that Ted Drewes I had ordered. And I ate it all with gusto. Crazy. 

Am I going to give in now to my husband’s love of Ted Drewes? Bahaha. No. I’m going to use the experience to prove my point. After all my version is low carb and we know my opinion on low carb dessert. 

Here’s the modified recipe 

Mix together in a saucepan

  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 T unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp Sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

In a bowl mix

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 tsp corn starch

Heat milk mix until it is a bit warmer than room temperature. Remove from heat and add to egg yolks. Mix thoroughly. Return to pan and heat, while stirring constantly, until mixture thickens to coat the back of a spoon. Divide into 2 servings and freeze. 

161 calories, 13.8g carbs, 9.3g fat, 7.2g protein per servings

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

